1820s C.E.

Sturgeon's electromagnet, 1824

William Sturgeon invents the electromagnet

British scientist William Sturgeon invented the electromagnet in 1824.  His first electromagnet was a horseshoe-shaped piece of iron that was wrapped with about 18 turns of bare copper wire.

px Flag of Honduras svg

Honduras declares indedendence from Spain

Honduras gained independence from Spain in 1821 and was a part of the First Mexican Empire until 1823, when it became part of the United Provinces of Central America. It has been an independent republic and has held regular elections since 1838.

px La Independencia del Perú

The Act of Independence of Peru is signed

General San Martín invited all of the populace of Lima to swear oath to the Independence cause. The signing of the Act of Independence of Peru was held on 15 July 1821.

Get a spark 💥Good news & change milestones from around the world