Home 1973


The British House of Lords votes to give The Bahamas its independence

The British House of Lords voted to give the Bahamas its independence on 22 June 1973. It joined the Commonwealth of Nations weeks later.

British noblemen found Charles Town, to be come Nassau, in the Bahamas

The current capital of The Bahamas was formerly known as Charles Town; founded in 1670 by British Noblemen who brought British settlers with them to the island of New Providence.

Population of the Bahamas grows to nearly 40,000

From the initial colonization(s), the Lucayan expanded throughout the Bahamas in some 800 years (c. 700 €“ c. 1500), growing to a population of about 40,000.

The Lucayans of the Taino people becomes the first inhabitants of the Bahamas

The first inhabitants of the Bahamas were the Lucayans, an Arawakan-speaking Taino people, who arrived between about 500 and 800 AD from other islands of the Caribbean.